WEEKEND READING…AND A MOMENTOUS OCCASION — FEB. 10

This week has been full of momentous reading, with each book bringing something special into my days. 

But here’s the most notable aspect to my reading week:  this week, I finished reading three review books, and not only finished them, but reviewed them.

I have one more book to finish of my planned week’s reading, but I’ve completed all the review books on my week’s list.  So I feel like celebrating a bit.

But here’s the best part.  I started reviewing on Amazon in 2008, and have been a Vine reviewer for awhile.  Today’s review post of The Long Drunk, by Eric Coyote, brought my total Amazon reviews to…wait for it!  600 REVIEWS!

When I started out, I wasn’t thinking of numbers.  I had just begun connecting to other reviewers and enjoyed exchanging comments on our reviews.

A lot has changed with Amazon reviewers since I began.  Back then, we had “Amazon friends” connections and could easily track the reviews of those we “knew.”

At that time, our profiles had links to these “friends,” and we could easily connect with them.  Nowadays, we have to actively search for other reviewers.

In the subsequent years, however, I’ve also joined Facebook, where I connect with readers, bloggers, writers, etc.  I have a lot of blogs these days, which is another way to connect.

Looking back, I am amazed at the changing online landscape, with more changes coming everyday.  Like Facebook’s timeline feature.

Goodreads is another place to connect with readers and bloggers.  I do enjoy how we can, in the midst of ongoing changes, find ways to join with other readers/writers and carry on a conversation, of sorts.

Where do you connect on the web?  Do you find that the social networking terrain has changed a lot since you began?  What are your favorite places to network?

4 thoughts on “WEEKEND READING…AND A MOMENTOUS OCCASION — FEB. 10

  1. Hi there, Laurel Rain! I know it has been a good while since I stopped by. Hope all is well in your neck of the woods. It sounds like you’ve been having some successful reading time. You know, I’m still doing Cat Thursday every week. Sure would love to have you join us again. It seems like more and more people join me every week.

    I know when I started out online, MySpace was the thing. Then I discovered Twitter and Facebook and the all important blogging. I think I am only behind you by a few in number of blogs…LOL! It seems like I think of new ideas for blogs all the time. In fact, I’m in the process of cooking up a new one now. All my blogs are on Blogger, but I do have one wordpress blog and I think I’m going to implement this new idea on that blog. We shall see. One new place in the social network realm that I’m totally loving is Pinterest. Have you checked it out yet? I’ll send you an invite. 🙂

    Like

    1. I’m glad you stopped by, Michelle…I’ve missed interacting on Cat Thursday, too; I just seemed to run out of photos of cats, since I don’t have one of my own anymore.

      But I should check it out again, to see what everyone else is doing.

      I’ve heard of Pinterest, and when I’ve tried to check out the links, I seem to come up against those aspects that make me nervous…like having to add permissions, etc. Wish I could check it out first before doing that!

      Maybe you could tell me a little about it. I do know that I have so many online obsessions already, that it’s hard to get out of the house…lol.

      Like

  2. So happy for you! I haven’t been following your bliog for long but I can tell you really have a heart for books. 600 reviews is so amazing.

    As for connections, my go-to places are Goodreads and my blogger feed. Both make it so easy to keep in touch and since not everyone is very active, they also help me to remember the bloggers I want to keep track of and follow.

    Like

    1. Thanks for stopping by, Erika. I like Goodreads, too, and post my reviews there right after they’re on Amazon. I don’t know how many reviews I have there, actually…I’ll have to check. But I don’t think I’ve been posting there as long as I have on Amazon.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.