BOOKISH FRIDAY: “FRAGMENTS OF THE LOST”

Welcome to another Bookish Friday, in which I  share excerpts from books…and connect with other bloggers, who do the same.

Let’s begin the celebration by sharing Book Beginnings, hosted by Rose City Reader; and let’s showcase The Friday 56 with Freda’s Voice.

To join in, just grab a book and share the opening lines…along with any thoughts you wish to give us; then turn to page 56 and excerpt anything on the page.

Then give us the title of the book, so others can add it to their lists!

What a great way to spend a Friday!

Today’s feature is a recent download from an author I enjoy:  Fragments of the Lost, by Megan Miranda, is a suspenseful psychological mystery about one girl’s search to uncover the truth behind her ex-boyfriend’s death. Perfect for fans of We Were Liars and 13 Reasons Why.

 

 

Beginning:  (A Blue Door)

There’s no light in the narrow stairway to the third floor.  There’s no handrail, either.  Just wooden steps and plaster walls that were probably added in an attic renovation long ago.  The door above remains shut, but there’s a sliver of light that escapes through the bottom, coming from inside.  He must’ve left the window uncovered.

***

56:  It’s mine.  My grief, my guilt, all of it—it belongs to me, and it’s mine to go through.  I had no idea how possessive I felt over Caleb, even now.  Even though Max probably has more claim to that room, if he wants to make the argument.  But he doesn’t.

***

Synopsis:  Jessa Whitworth knew she didn’t belong in her ex-boyfriend Caleb’s room. But she couldn’t deny that she was everywhere–in his photos, his neatly folded T-shirts, even the butterfly necklace in his jeans pocket . . . the one she gave him for safe keeping on that day.

His mother asked her to pack up his things–even though she blames Jessa for his accident. How could she say no? And maybe, just maybe, it will help her work through the guilt she feels about their final moments together.

But as Jessa begins to box up the pieces of Caleb’s life, they trigger memories that make Jessa realize their past relationship may not be exactly as she remembered. And she starts to question whether she really knew Caleb at all.

Each fragment of his life reveals a new clue that propels Jessa to search for the truth about Caleb’s accident. What really happened on the storm-swept bridge?

***

What do you think?  Do the snippets capture your interest?

***

BOOKISH FRIDAY: “THE CRUELEST MONTH”

Welcome to another Bookish Friday, in which I  share excerpts from books…and connect with other bloggers, who do the same.

Let’s begin the celebration by sharing Book Beginnings, hosted by Rose City Reader; and let’s showcase The Friday 56 with Freda’s Voice.

To join in, just grab a book and share the opening lines…along with any thoughts you wish to give us; then turn to page 56 and excerpt anything on the page.

Then give us the title of the book, so others can add it to their lists!

What a great way to spend a Friday!

Today’s feature is a recent download, The Cruelest Month, Book 3 in the C. I. Gamache series, by Louise Penny:  “The book’s title is a metaphor not only for the month of April but also for Gamache’s personal and professional challenges—making this the series standout so far.” 

 

Book Beginnings:  Kneeling in the fragrant moist grass of the village green Clara Morrow carefully hid the Easter egg and thought about raising the dead, which she planned to do right after supper.  Wiping a strand of hair from her face, she smeared bits of grass, mud and some other brown stuff that might not be mud into her tangled hair.  All around, villagers wandered with their baskets of brightly colored eggs, looking for the perfect hiding places.

***

56:  But if there was ever a case for evil, in Beauvoir’s experience, it was the old Hadley house.  He shifted his toned body in the driver’s seat, suddenly uncomfortable, and looked over at the boss.  Gamache was watching him thoughtfully.

***

Synopsis:  Welcome to Three Pines, where the cruelest month is about to deliver on its threat.

It’s spring in the tiny, forgotten village; buds are on the trees and the first flowers are struggling through the newly thawed earth. But not everything is meant to return to life. . .

When some villagers decide to celebrate Easter with a séance at the Old Hadley House, they are hoping to rid the town of its evil—until one of their party dies of fright. Was this a natural death, or was the victim somehow helped along?

Brilliant, compassionate Chief Inspector Armand Gamache of the Sûreté du Québec is called to investigate, in a case that will force him to face his own ghosts as well as those of a seemingly idyllic town where relationships are far more dangerous than they seem.

***

What do you think?  Do you want to keep reading?  Have you read any books in this series?

***