BOOKISH FRIDAY: “THE WIFE BETWEEN US”

Welcome to another Bookish Friday, in which I  share excerpts from books…and connect with other bloggers, who do the same.

Let’s begin the celebration by sharing Book Beginnings, hosted by Rose City Reader; and let’s showcase The Friday 56 with Freda’s Voice.

To join in, just grab a book and share the opening lines…along with any thoughts you wish to give us; then turn to page 56 and excerpt anything on the page.

Then give us the title of the book, so others can add it to their lists!

What a great way to spend a Friday!

Today’s feature is an ARC from NetGalley:  The Wife Between Us, by Greer Hendricks/Sarah Pekkanen, to be released on 1/9/18, “a fiendishly clever romantic thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. This one will keep you guessing.” –Anita Shreve, New York Times bestselling author of The Stars are Fire

 

Book Beginning:  (Prologue)

She walks briskly down the city sidewalk, her blond hair bouncing against her shoulders, her cheeks flushed, a gym bag looped over her forearm.  When she reaches her apartment building, her hand dips into her purse and pulls out her keys.  The street is loud and busy, with yellow cabs racing by, commuters returning from work, and shoppers entering the deli on the corner.  But my eyes never stray from her.

***

Friday 56:  One of the first clues surfaced even before we were married.  I held it in my hand.  Sam saw it.  So did everyone else at our wedding. (56%).

***

Synopsis:  When you read this book, you will make many assumptions.
You will assume you are reading about a jealous ex-wife.
You will assume she is obsessed with her replacement – a beautiful, younger woman who is about to marry the man they both love.
You will assume you know the anatomy of this tangled love triangle.
Assume nothing.

Twisted and deliciously chilling, The Wife Between Us exposes the secret complexities of an enviable marriage – and the dangerous truths we ignore in the name of love.

Read between the lies.

***

What do you think?  Do the snippets grab you?  Would you keep reading?

***

Advertisements

22 thoughts on “BOOKISH FRIDAY: “THE WIFE BETWEEN US”

  1. Hi Lorraine,

    I would definitely keep reading, even if that great cover hadn’t drawn me in already.

    The fact that she is being watched is spooky enough, but I am intrigued to know what the mystery item was at the wedding and is Sam the girl being watched, the bridegroom at the wedding, or a third party who knew both bride and groom?

    The ratings and reviews have been amazing, so thanks for the share and I hope that you enjoy the book 🙂

    Yvonne

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply to Sassy Brit (Reviewer) Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.