BOOKISH FRIDAY: “FRAGMENTS OF THE LOST”

Welcome to another Bookish Friday, in which I  share excerpts from books…and connect with other bloggers, who do the same.

Let’s begin the celebration by sharing Book Beginnings, hosted by Rose City Reader; and let’s showcase The Friday 56 with Freda’s Voice.

To join in, just grab a book and share the opening lines…along with any thoughts you wish to give us; then turn to page 56 and excerpt anything on the page.

Then give us the title of the book, so others can add it to their lists!

What a great way to spend a Friday!

Today’s feature is a recent download from an author I enjoy:  Fragments of the Lost, by Megan Miranda, is a suspenseful psychological mystery about one girl’s search to uncover the truth behind her ex-boyfriend’s death. Perfect for fans of We Were Liars and 13 Reasons Why.

 

 

Beginning:  (A Blue Door)

There’s no light in the narrow stairway to the third floor.  There’s no handrail, either.  Just wooden steps and plaster walls that were probably added in an attic renovation long ago.  The door above remains shut, but there’s a sliver of light that escapes through the bottom, coming from inside.  He must’ve left the window uncovered.

***

56:  It’s mine.  My grief, my guilt, all of it—it belongs to me, and it’s mine to go through.  I had no idea how possessive I felt over Caleb, even now.  Even though Max probably has more claim to that room, if he wants to make the argument.  But he doesn’t.

***

Synopsis:  Jessa Whitworth knew she didn’t belong in her ex-boyfriend Caleb’s room. But she couldn’t deny that she was everywhere–in his photos, his neatly folded T-shirts, even the butterfly necklace in his jeans pocket . . . the one she gave him for safe keeping on that day.

His mother asked her to pack up his things–even though she blames Jessa for his accident. How could she say no? And maybe, just maybe, it will help her work through the guilt she feels about their final moments together.

But as Jessa begins to box up the pieces of Caleb’s life, they trigger memories that make Jessa realize their past relationship may not be exactly as she remembered. And she starts to question whether she really knew Caleb at all.

Each fragment of his life reveals a new clue that propels Jessa to search for the truth about Caleb’s accident. What really happened on the storm-swept bridge?

***

What do you think?  Do the snippets capture your interest?

***

26 thoughts on “BOOKISH FRIDAY: “FRAGMENTS OF THE LOST”

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.