MY PROGRESS: COMPULSIVE BOOK BUYING DISORDER…

Have I improved in this area?  Do I sometimes wait and ponder whether or not to “click to buy,” or am I just as compulsive as ever?

Well, let’s take a peek.

In August, I bought 17 books, and I purchased 15 in September.  Here’s October…so far:

 

OCTOBER 2017:

1.Best Day Ever (e-book), by Kaira Rouda

2.Cold as Ice (e-book, Country Club Murders), by Julie Mulhern

3.Last Mrs. Parrish, The (e-book), by Liv Constantine

4.Odd Child Out (e-book), by Gilly Macmillan

5.Seven Days of Us (e-book), by Francesca Hornak

6.Sing, Unburied, Sing (e-book), by Jesmyn Ward

7.Without Merit (e-book), by Colleen Hoover

8.Unraveling Oliver (e-book), by Liz Nugent

***

Yes, I could buy more…and I probably will.  But I have been pausing and thinking before “clicking.”  That’s good, isn’t it?

What does your buying record show you?  Or do you avoid buying altogether?

***

16 thoughts on “MY PROGRESS: COMPULSIVE BOOK BUYING DISORDER…

  1. I’m too scared to look at how many books I’ve bought recently. I do however tend to impulse buy books that are on sale. I have a wishlist on Amazon I check daily to see if prices have dropped and at the start of each month I check the monthly deals. I also get three daily emails with that days bargains. It’s very possible I have a problem.

    I will however second the Overdrive rec. It’s only working on my phone but has saved me a fortune and is brilliant for audio books.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I used to do compulsive yarn buying. Now I just pick up sock yarn because I’ll get socks or a shawl out of it. For books I always check my library’s database for Kindle versions and then default to hard copies. There are two books it doesn’t carry and I want to go to our local, used bookstore to see if they’re there.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Cleo, and some days are better than others for me! It depends on what books are being shown on blogs; those lovely books always tempt me! But sometimes I can actually put a bookmark on Amazon and move on…for a while, anyway! LOL

      Like

  3. I am holding back as much as I can. (Buying books at a Book Fair doesn’t count in my view) so I’ve only bought one this month. With you – you read most of them and I think that really counts. Like Stefanie I do check the library for some books I want to read but… sometimes it is so easy to download onto the Kindle. Don’t angst too much – you keep the book industry thriving!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I try not to buy many physical books since I’ll soon be moving to a house that’s 1/3 the size of where I live now. I did pre-order Uncommon Type by Tom Hanks last week and bought 2 books at a store near me. I mainly listen to audio books.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I don’t want to examine my buying history too closely! I’m not sure I’d like what it had to say! I am trying to use the library more though in an effort to keep down some of the buying. Though I find myself binge checking out books which while isn’t expensive has some other issues!

    Liked by 1 person

    • The library is a place I need to use more. Before blogging, I got most of my books from the library…except that I also browsed in bookstores to buy books. I didn’t “click to buy” from Amazon, though.

      Who can say what is better? Whatever works, that’s what I think. Enjoy your books. Thanks for stopping by, Katherine.

      Like

  6. Before blogging, I got most of my books from the program library…except that I also browsed in bookstores to bribe books. It depends on what books are being shown on blogs; those endearing books always tempt me!

    Liked by 1 person

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

