OFF TO THE SHORE: THE BOOKS ARE COMING, TOO….

 

It is almost time for my trip to the beach!  You’d think I’m going for a week or more, the way I’m gathering things together, making lists, etc.

All week long, these pieces of half-packed luggage have been sitting by my bed.  Whenever I can tuck something away, which has to be an item I won’t be using again before I leave…in it goes.

At least I have refrained from bringing out my large luggage…my daughter has reminded me that other people will have luggage in the van.  LOL.

One thing I haven’t forgotten…books.  Maybe I won’t have much reading time, but you have to be prepared.  For late nights, when everyone else is out doing other things, I can curl up in my hotel room and read a little.  I’m thinking one of these, below.  I’m already reading The Cutaway, by Christina Kovac.

 

***

I’ll be bringing Pippa, too, with many book choices, including One Perfect Lie, by Lisa Scottoline.

 

 

***

I also have a short book on my Kindle, one I downloaded this week:  All Grown Up, by Jami Attenberg.

 

 

***

So….I will party with the others until I can make my excuses and retreat to my room…for reading, TV, etc.  That’s how I enjoy myself, and since many people will be having a bonfire on the beach after the festivities, I will not be missed, I’m pretty sure.

Now you know my secret…I am basically a recluse who comes out to play for only a few hours into the night.  That’s how I do things nowadays.  I had my days of partying all night back in the day…now I prefer curling up to read.

What do you like to do when you are on “vacation”?

***

10 thoughts on “OFF TO THE SHORE: THE BOOKS ARE COMING, TOO….

    • I remember those vacations with small kids…you’re right, they’re not as relaxing as we’d like. I don’t have any kids to look after nowadays, but I don’t have as much energy as I once had, so that’s a trade-off…LOL.

      Thanks for stopping by, Katherine.

      Like

  1. Have a great trip!

    I like to read, relax, and eat. To get away from people I go for walks and look for birds. Seriously. I bring my binoculars and camera – they are always nature parks, even in the city. I don’t have the endurance for non-stop parties anymore!

    Liked by 1 person

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

