REVIEW: CLOUDS IN MY COFFEE, BY JULIE MULHERN

51Cx6EtbAOL._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_

 

 

Autumn in Kansas City, Missouri, is the time for auctions, galas, and get-togethers. Ellison Russell’s home is overflowing with house guests, from her Aunt Sis to her sister Marjorie.

Marjorie seems to have left her husband Greg, and in her attempt to feel better about the situation, is conducting herself in a very flirtatious manner, while showing a lot of cleavage.

Aunt Sis is hiding something, and hints of a big secret come out when Frances, mother to Marjorie and Ellison, makes some remarks.

The first of many attempts on the unknown target’s life begins at the auction when a bust falls over the rail and almost strikes Ellison. But nobody is sure she was the intended victim. However, when someone firebombs her house later, it is beginning to look like she is.

At the gala, place cards have been switched around for various reasons, so nobody is sure who was supposed to be sitting in the seat Ellison has taken…and even stranger is the fact that Hammie Walsh, who just happened to grab Ellison’s “water” glass, dies from some kind of poisoning.

Anarchy Jones is front and center in the investigation, and as more deadly episodes occur, the mystery ratchets up. Secrets are revealed, and strange alliances form. Clouds in My Coffee was an engaging book that drew me into the world of the 1970s and to the connections between the characters.

As always, I loved watching the attraction grow between Anarchy and Ellison. I also liked seeing the sisters argue and one-up each other. First, the older generation of sisters: Frances and Cecelia (Sis); and then Marjorie and Ellison.

I didn’t figure out who was the target and who the perpetrator until the end, so I was pleased with how the story unfolded. A definite 5 star read.

14 thoughts on “REVIEW: CLOUDS IN MY COFFEE, BY JULIE MULHERN

  1. I agree, this was fun. Can’t wait for the next one (she can’t write em fast enough lol). They just seem familiar- I remember phones w/ the stretchy cord and all that stuff, so it’s fun to have that as a setting. No cell phones… and Ellison is a lot of fun.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Greg, and yes, when those stretchy cords were extra long, they used to get all tangled up, especially when some of us would walk around the rooms while we talked on the phone. LOL.

      I actually sometimes long for the days with no cell phones, but I guess I’m as addicted to my iPhone as the next person.

      I hope there is going to be a next one. I want more! But I would hate to have a mother like Ellison’s, and her sister was annoying, too.

      Like

      • I hear you, I sometimes miss those days myself! And yeah her mother is so domineering although she’s entertaining in an imperious kinda way… lol. And I like how her dad just plays golf and tries to stay above it all… but yes the sister irritated me too.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I know I’ve said it before, but dagnabbit! I really want to read this author’s books. I’ve had one on my TBR list for what seems like forever and keep forgetting about it, but every time I see a review for one of them, I remember and think, “Oh, snap!” I missed it again.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This sounds like a really good story. A part of a series obviously. Hmm just as well there was a change around at the gala. A cozy mystery with great sound relationships, one I could easily get engaged by too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have loved all three books, Kathryn. I think it’s considered a trilogy, although maybe there will be more books. I wouldn’t mind that, as I enjoy the characters. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  4. Nice title for a ’70s-set novel. I recently finished the Carly Simon memoir which I think Mulhern takes the title from — can’t go wrong there. Looks like enjoyable story. thx

    Liked by 1 person

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

