REVIEW: I LET YOU GO, BY CLAIRE MACKINTOSH

27212488

 

 

A rainy night, a moment that will change everything, and a child slips from his mother’s grasp, careening into the road and the pathway of a car. A car moving too fast, a car that does not stop.

Little Jacob Jordan’s death from that hit and run accident would change many lives. Our story begins with the mother’s narrative; the unnamed mother, at least in the beginning.

We then watch the journey, in the first person narrative, of a young woman named Jenna Gray, who seems to be running from something. Is she the mother? Or is she the hit and run driver? Why is she so frightened all the time?

There are numerous points along the way when I knew that nothing about I Let You Go was simple. The case has gone cold, and more than a year has passed, when some evidence comes to light. What will happen, and who will the police bring in for questioning. Who will be accused?

Meanwhile, even after the police believe they have the culprit, a new narrative appears, a first person voice that seems chilling, one that hints at much more to the story. The voice belongs to a man called Ian Peterson, and he seems to be addressing a “you” who turns out to be Jennifer/Jenna.

Themes of violence, loss, secrets, betrayals, and domestic violence add many layers to a story which is now a lot more complex than we originally believed.

I also enjoyed the sections involving the police inspectors. Ray and Kate became familiar to this reader, and I liked glimpsing their personal lives and seeing how they arrived at their conclusions. How, in the last possible moments, they figured out what information had been missing all along.

A chilling and dramatic conclusion left me holding my breath until the final page…and even then, I wasn’t sure that something dark would not appear at the last second. 5 stars.

13 thoughts on “REVIEW: I LET YOU GO, BY CLAIRE MACKINTOSH

  1. Oh boy! Feel chilled reading your review. However I notice one of her books coming out on one of our publishers later in the year and I think I should try her. Ah convoluted and stunning I see you say to Mary. I most likely need to read something like this to change up my reading pattern.

    Liked by 1 person

    • When I started the book, I enjoyed it, but when I hit the halfway mark, and all the twisty things started happening, I couldn’t put it down. I’ve also noticed she has another book coming out. Thanks for stopping by, Kathryn.

      Like

    • Oh, I agree completely, Katherine. If I had small children or young grandchildren, it would be too horrifying to read. It’s bad enough just imagining that the child is someone you know and love.

      Most of the story was about the aftermath, though, and that part was very engaging. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  2. Pingback: MY INTERIOR WORLD: UPCOMING BOOK RELEASES! | AN INTERIOR JOURNEY

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

