CURL UP WITH ME & CONTEMPLATE: BOOKS OUT, BOOKS IN

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Even as I clear my bookshelves, and while I’m feeling virtuous about that, my eyes are glomming onto books I see on blogs…books I want.

My goal this year was to request most of my new additions from NetGalley or Vine…and I’ve done that.  But there is still that lingering need to download an e-book I see somewhere…or even pick up a physical book.

Below are the books I purchased in October.  Yes, most are e-books, yay me!  But there are three physical books.  How can I justify these additions to my shelves, especially when they are finally looking…well, almost normal.  (See one of my bedroom shelves above, after the purge).

I have no justification.

I just wanted them.  So it goes on…books out, books in.  Perhaps I can send more books out than I bring in?  What would you do, in the face of all the bookish temptation out there?

Ah, yes, you say…there is always the library.  And I should do that.  But then I say I can’t wait…delayed gratification is not my thing.

Child of the Sixties, bite your tongue!

But behold the lovely books I acquired…and tell me you would not be tempted.  LOL

***

OCTOBER 2015:

1.    Admissions, The (e-book), by Meg Mitchell Moore

2.    Cherry, by Mary Karr

3.    Deep End, The (e-book), by Julie Mulhern

4.    Girl with No Past, The (e-book), by Kathryn Croft

5.   Jane Fonda, The Private Life of a Public Woman, by Patricia Bosworth

6.    Liar’s Club, The: A Memoir, by Mary Karr

7.     Lucky Us (e-book), by Amy Bloom

8.    Shadow Year, The (e-book), by Hannah Richell

9.     Truth Be Told (e-book), by Hank Phillippi Ryan

***

We have known for a while that I suffer from this disorder:

 

compulsive book buying

 

***

4 thoughts on “CURL UP WITH ME & CONTEMPLATE: BOOKS OUT, BOOKS IN

  1. I have no problem with books coming in and buying them! Authors write and I love to buy a book and support them. Not only payment but building up their buy numbers. I love NetGalley and the Library and awesome publishers but I still allow myself to buy. It’s my main “vice”, if it’s even that! I don’t mind full shelves either, but I need to get some decent ones! Yay to book buying.

    Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

