CURL UP WITH INTROS/TEASERS – “BIG LITTLE LIES”

y8ekqo13031746531

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Welcome to another Tuesday celebrating bookish events, from Tuesday/First Chapter/Intros, hosted by Bibliophile by the Sea; and Teaser Tuesdays hosted by Should Be Reading.

Today I am spotlighting an ARC that I will probably start reading tomorrow.  It is from a new favorite author, Liane Moriarty…and I know that many of you will recognize it:  Big Little Lies.

 

 

 

81+iucjYd9L._SL1500_

 

Intro:  “That doesn’t sound like a school trivia night,” said Mrs. Patty Ponder to Marie Antoinette.  “That sounds like a riot.”

The cat didn’t respond.  She was dozing on the couch and found school trivia nights to be trivial.

“Not interested, eh?  Let them eat cake!  Is that what you’re thinking?  They do eat a lot of cake, don’t they?  All those cake stalls.  Goodness me.  Although I don’t think any of the mothers ever actually eat them.  They’re all so sleek and skinny, aren’t they?  Like you.”

Marie Antoinette sneered at the compliment.  The “let them eat cake” thing had grown old a long time ago, and she’d recently heard one of Mrs. Ponder’s grandchildren say it was meant to be “let them eat brioche” and also that Marie Antoinette never said it in the first place.

Mrs. Ponder picked up her television remote and turned down the volume on Dancing with the Stars.  She’d turned it up loud earlier because of the sound of the heavy rain, but the rain had eased now.

She could hear people shouting.  Angry hollers crashed through the quiet, cold night air.  It was somehow hurtful for Mrs. Ponder to hear, as if all that rage were directed at her. (Mrs. Ponder had grown  up with an angry mother.)

***

Teaser:   Jane pulled up at a red light behind a big shiny SUV with its hazard lights blinking and watched a dark-haired woman hurry along the side of the road back to her car.  She wore a floaty blue summer dress and high strappy heels, and she smiled and waved apologetically, charmingly at Jane.  The morning sun caught one of her earrings, and it shone as if she’d been touched by something celestial.  (p. 13).

***

Blurb:   Sometimes it’s the little lies that turn out to be the most lethal. . . .A murder… . . . a tragic accident… . . . or just parents behaving badly?

What’s indisputable is that someone is dead.
But who did what?
Big Little Lies follows three women, each at a crossroads:
Madeline is a force to be reckoned with. She’s funny and biting, passionate, she remembers everything and forgives no one. Her ex-husband and his yogi new wife have moved into her beloved beachside community, and their daughter is in the same kindergarten class as Madeline’s youngest (how is this possible?). And to top it all off, Madeline’s teenage daughter seems to be choosing Madeline’s ex-husband over her. (How. Is. This. Possible?).
Celeste is the kind of beautiful woman who makes the world stop and stare. While she may seem a bit flustered at times, who wouldn’t be, with those rambunctious twin boys? Now that the boys are starting school, Celeste and her husband look set to become the king and queen of the school parent body. But royalty often comes at a price, and Celeste is grappling with how much more she is willing to pay.
New to town, single mom Jane is so young that another mother mistakes her for the nanny. Jane is sad beyond her years and harbors secret doubts about her son. But why? While Madeline and Celeste soon take Jane under their wing, none of them realizes how the arrival of Jane and her inscrutable little boy will affect them all.
Big Little Lies is a brilliant take on ex-husbands and second wives, mothers and daughters, schoolyard scandal, and the dangerous little lies we tell ourselves just to survive.
***
I have been a fan of this author ever since I read The Husband’s Secret.  Now I must have every one of her books.  What do you think?  Did it grab you?  Would you keep reading?
***
48 thoughts on “CURL UP WITH INTROS/TEASERS – “BIG LITTLE LIES”

  1. I’ve read two of Moriarty’s books (The Husband’s Secret and What Alice Forgot) and I think I was one of the only people in the world that didn’t like them. I really disliked her characters. So, I told myself I was giving up on Moriarty…but the blurbs always sound so interesting! We’ll see about this one…

    Like

  2. I too like Liane Moriarty’s writing. I don’t always like her characters, but I always like the story. I will put this one on my TBR list. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  3. Oh my, what fun! I also have observed that–schools having cakewalks and yet the younger moms are thin and trim and probably don’t eat cake! I have to read this soon; it is calling my name!
    Thanks for the highlight– now it is at the top of my tbr wishlist. On my blog I am featuring one of the books that I received from you last week 🙂

    Like

  4. Having had quite an angry mother myself I can identify with Mrs. Ponder’s dislike for shouting! I hadn’t seen any excerpts of this one yet although I’d seen it around! I hope you enjoy the rest of this one 🙂 Thank for sharing!
    My Intro
    Juli @ Universe in Words

    Like

    • I’m glad you could stop by, Paulita, and I am now ready to plunge into Big Little Lies, having just finished (and loved!) Small Blessings.

      This week’s reads so far have been an “embarrassment of riches.” Do you have weeks like that?

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

