A SOUTHERN COMING-OF-AGE TALE — A Review of “Girls in Trucks”

Growing up in Charleston, with a mother who is a member of a debutante society called the Camellias, Sarah Walters is struggling to become her own person. To find love and her own way, without giving in to the code that feels stifling to her.

Some of her departures from the code include wild partying and hanging out with wild Island boys in pickup trucks. Another part of her rebellion takes her up North to college and New York for a career. Along the way, she keeps falling in love with all the wrong boys (and later the wrong men), until finally, just when she believes that she has found “the one,” she discovers that it is too late for her and the man she had put on the back burner for years.

In this poignant tale of a young woman’s coming of age, we discover similarities with our own experiences, even when we have no Southern “bones” in our body. There is something that resonates in this young woman’s history that will keep us reading.

There were times that I wanted to throw up my hands and yell at her, reminding her that her wrong choices kept leading her to hurt and disappointment.

In the end, Sarah comes to a peaceful reconciliation with what she needs in her life, and so does the reader.

I’m giving Girls in Trucks 4.5 stars, primarily because at times I found the backward and forward narration confusing. Sometimes the story seemed to skip ahead and then back, without the seamless transitions that I enjoy. But the overall story was commendable and one that I would recommend.

9 thoughts on “A SOUTHERN COMING-OF-AGE TALE — A Review of “Girls in Trucks”

  1. I was kind of on the fence with this one. I am glad Sarah sorted her life out in the end, but she did make some bad choices along the way.

    I thought you were on my google reader but I now realise you were not, so I have added you now, so I can keep up with what is going on in your world.

    Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

