REVIEW: SAFE KEEPING, BY BARBARA TAYLOR SISSEL

81bdvgxLvvL._SL1500_

 

 

 

 

From the very beginning of Safe Keeping, we are thrust into the troubled world of an anxious mother, Emily Lebay, pondering what her son Tucker might have done now. His father, Roy, is a veteran from the Vietnam War, suffering from Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder, and even knowing that, I found it very difficult to like that character.

Roy’s behavior, his control issues…all made me cringe as I wondered again and again why Emily stayed with him.

And even though Tucker is portrayed as the troubled young man, there were so many good reasons for what he has become…and many of them point to the parents. Especially Roy, in my opinion.

Lissa, married to Evan, is the direct opposite of Tucker, always the pride and joy of the family. But she has secrets…and her own issues.

The story unfolds as a mystery, while also revealing the hidden dynamics of the troubled family.

I felt suspicious of almost everyone involved, from the detectives investigating, who apparently ignored other possible suspects in the murder of two girls, and the father himself. What secrets is he keeping? Has he somehow done something to bring the law down on Tucker?

Therefore, I was quite surprised that the ending wrapped things up in such a predictable way. I had hoped that some last minute reveal would turn things around and take the story in an unexpected direction. So while I enjoyed the book, I did not like the ending. 4.0 stars.

6 thoughts on “REVIEW: SAFE KEEPING, BY BARBARA TAYLOR SISSEL

    1. It felt like the author took the easy way out…I guess I’m so used to surprising twists that I was stunned when that didn’t happen. In a way, I guess, that is a surprising twist…LOL.

      Overall, though, I enjoyed the book. Thanks for visiting, Cleopatra.

      Like

  1. It reminds me of a discussion awhile back on someone’s blog: does saying there is a surprise ending, or a twist at the end, constitute a spoiler? I would say not.
    I read this book and another by the author and enjoyed them, but felt the same way, that it was too predictable. Thanks for a good review.

    Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.